Disability Appeal – Most claims are denied initally so you may want to file an Appeal

Have you applied for Social Security Disability (SSD) benefits or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and been denied?

When you are suffering a debilitating injury or illness, dealing with the Social Security benefits system can be extremely frustrating. If this is your first time being denied for benefits, you may be wondering how to go about the process of filing a Social Security disability appeal. Or perhaps you have been denied previously and are contending with a later stage of the appeals process of the Social Security Administration or SSA. Regardless of the appeals stage you are at, it is important to have a Texas disability lawyer on your side that can advocate for you.

Disability Appeal Social Security Appeal

The federal government frequently denies benefits claims, and many Texas residents deal with the Social Security appeal process every year.

This appeals process can be extremely lengthy, and it can be difficult to know how to present the best appeal without the assistance of a disability lawyer. At the Law Offices of Bemis, Roach & Reed, we know how important it is to have access to disability benefits when you are unable to work. If you have been denied Social Security benefits, it is never too soon to contact a Texas disability lawyer. Our disability team handles cases across the state of Texas, including claims from Austin, San Antonio, Dallas, Fort Worth, Houston, Galveston, and Corpus Christi. Contact the Law Office of Bemis, Roach & Reed today to discuss your appeal.

The 4 Stages of the Social Security Disability Appeal Process

Are you unsure about how the Social Security appeal process works? You are not alone. Every day, Texas residents apply for benefits only to learn that their claims have been denied. In fact, the federal government – The SSA is known for denying benefits claims, even when the claimants suffer from legitimate long-term and permanent disabilities. How should you begin the appeals process? When you have been denied benefits, you are required by law to request an appeal within 60 days from the date that you received your denial letter. Then, it is important to know that there are different levels of appeal, depending on how many times your claim has been denied.

1. First Level of Appeal: Reconsideration

When you have been denied benefits for the first time, you can request reconsideration. The Social Security Administration (SSA) will reconsider the original evidence you submitted, as well as any new evidence that has come to light. Your claim will be reviewed by a new set of eyes at the SSA. A Texas disability attorney can ensure that you submit all relevant materials in a timely manner, allowing for your best chance at a successful reconsideration.

The 4 levels of Appeal
There are four levels of appeal. They are (1) reconsideration, (2) hearing by an administrative law judge, (3) review by the Appeals Council, and (4) federal court review.

2. Second Level of Appeal: Hearing

If your claim is denied after reconsideration, the next level of appeal requires your case to go before an administrative law judge. You may be asked to provide additional evidence, and you will have the opportunity to bring witnesses and other documentation to your hearing. It is extremely important to have a disability lawyer on your side that can advocate for you during your hearing.

If you need to file a Disability Appeal call 512-454-4000 and get help today

3. Third Level of Disability Appeal: Appeals Council

Was your claim for benefits denied at your hearing? To appeal that decision, you will need to file an appeal with Appeals Council. The Appeals Council can deny your request if it believes the administrative law judge or ALJ made the right decision at your hearing, or it can decide to review your case. It is extremely important to have a Texas disability lawyer who can assist you as you request an appeal from the Appeals Council.

4. Fourth Level of Appeal: Federal Court

Did the Appeals Council issue an unfavorable decision? Now your final option for a Social Security appeal is filing a suit in federal court. When you file a lawsuit, you will need the experience of a disability attorney. Many firms utilize “claim representatives” who are not attorneys. If your case needs to be appealed to federal court, your representative must be an attorney licensed to practice in federal court.

Social Security Appeal Lawyer

Unfortunately, about a quarter of people will become disabled during their working years. If an injury or illness is preventing you from working, you may be eligible to collect disability benefits. If you are thinking of filing for social security or long term disability we can help. If you have filed for benefits and been denied disability we can assist in your Social Security appeal. You will want to have a Texas disability attorney who can advocate for you throughout the appeals process. At the Law Offices of Bemis, Roach & Reed, we know how stressful it can be to worry about appealing your denied claim. Don’t give up. Contact the experienced long term disability attorneys at Bemis, Roach and Reed today for a free consultation. Call 512-454-4000 and get help NOW.


Bemis, Roach & Reed has helped clients who are disabled from a wide variety of medical conditions. If you are unable to work due to any of the following conditions and have been denied disability benefits, contact us. We would like to help.


Award winning Social Security appeal lawyers